Image: the Ukraine crisis - a EU crisis?
The Ukraine crisis; n24.de

Ukraine - Belarus - Russia

1. Risks and chances

 

The crises in Ukraine and Belarus threaten peace in Europe and in the world. The European Union plays an important role in this conflict. Its member states have different opinions on this issue. With the compromise on relatively cautious sanctions against Russia, the EU basically sided with the USA. But the Union does not want an armed conflict because this could have unforeseeable consequences.

 

In our new Europe, these conflicts also shall be resolved peacefully, democratically in referenda by the citizens of the countries concerned. They could thus trigger a wave of democratization in the whole region!

 

 

2. Eastern Europe policy

 

What policy should Europe pursue regarding Ukraine, Belarus and Russia? Our New Europe invites all citizens across Europe to choose between the following 3 options (questionnaire, question 9): 

  1. EU: As long as the Ukraine crisis is not resolved and the situation in Belarus is uncertain, the economic sanctions against Moscow (and Minsk) have to be maintained or strengthened, if needed! The options of the Ukraine and Belarus to become EU members shall be kept open! The annexation of Crimea by Russia must be condemned! - The EU has to strengthen its common foreign policy and to create a EU defence union with its own armed forces!
    xxx
  2. Confrontation: The Ukraine and Belarus shall become members of the EU and of NATO as quickly as possible! They have to be supported both economically and militarily! The West shall no more make any concessions to Russia! The Russian annexation of Crimea must be reversed, and the territorial integrity of the Ukraine must be guaranteed! A war against Russia may prove to be unavoidable!
    xxx
  3. Self-determination: The citizens in the Ukraine, Belarus and Crimea shall be be given the possibility to decide in referenda controlled by the UN and/or the OSCE what kind of country they want: 
  • Ukraine and Belarus: Part of Russia or the West? Or cooperation and free trade agreements both with Russia and the EU?
  • Ukraine: Decentralized confederation that will protect its minorities?
  • Crimea: Part of Russia or Ukraine?

Under these conditions, the sanctions against Russia shall be lifted.

Bild: Ukraine-Krise - was will die EU?
Ukraine-Krise; www.n24.de

Ukraine - Belarus - Russland

1. Risiken und Chancen

 

Die Krisen in der Ukraine und in Belarus bedrohen den Frieden in Europa und in der Welt. Die Europäische Union spielt in diesem Konflikt eine wichtige Rolle. Ihre Mitgliedsstaaten vertreten dabei unterschiedliche Poitionen. Mit dem Kompromiss für relativ zurückhaltende Sanktionen gegen Russland stellte sich die EU grundsätzlich auf die Seite der USA. Sie will aber keinen bewaffneten Konflikt, weil dieser unabsehbare Folgen haben könnte.

 

In unserem neuen Europa sollen auch diese Konflikte auf demokratischem Weg friedlich mit Referenden durch die Bürgerinnen und Bürger in den betroffenen Ländern entschieden werden. Sie könnten so eine Demokratisierungswelle in der ganzen Region auslösen! 

 

  

2. Osteuropapolitik

 

Wie soll sich Europa gegenüber der Ukraine, Belarus und Russland verhalten? Our New Europe ermöglicht allen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in ganz Europa die Wahl  zwischen den folgenden 3 Positionen (Fragebogen, Frage 9):

  1. EU: Solange die Ukraine-Krise nicht gelöst und die Lage in Belarus ungewiss bleibt, müssen die wirtschaftlichen Sanktionen gegen Moskau (und Minsk) beibehalten und wenn nötig verstärkt werden. Der Ukraine und Belarus wird der EU-Beitritt in Aussicht gestellt; die Annexion der Krim durch Russland wird verurteilt. - Die EU muss ihre Aussenpolitik stärken und eine Verteidigungsunion mit eigenen bewaffneten Einheiten bilden!
    xxx
  2. Konfrontation: Die Ukraine und Belarus sind möglichst rasch in die EU und in die NATO aufzunehmen! Sie müssen wirtschaftlich und militärisch unterstützt werden! Gegenüber Russland darf der Westen keine weiteren Konzessionen mehr eingehen! Russlands Annexion der Krim ist rückgängig zu machen! Die territoriale Integrität der Ukraine ist zu garantieren! Ein Krieg gegen Russland ist nötigenfalls in Kauf zu nehmen!
    xxx
  3. Selbstbestimmung: Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger in der Ukraine, Belarus und der Krim sollen in von der UNO und/oder der OSZE kontrollierten Referenden entscheiden können, was für ein Land sie wollen: 
  • Ukraine und Belarus: Anlehnung an Russland oder an den Westen? Oder Zusammenarbeit und Freihandelsabkommen sowohl mit Russland wie mit der EU?
  • Ukraine: Dezentrale Konföderation, die ihre Minderheiten schützt?
  • Krim: Anschluss an Russland oder an die Ukraine?

Unter diesen Voraussetzungen werden die Sanktionen gegenüber Russland aufgehoben.